About Taxi

The National Transport Authority is responsible for the licensing and regulation of small public service vehicles (SPSVs) in Ireland. This refers collectively to taxis, wheelchair accessible taxis, hackneys, wheelchair accessible hackneys and limousines.

SPSVs are defined as vehicles capable of carrying for hire or reward a maximum of eight passengers in addition to the driver.

There are five basic categories of vehicle licence:

– Taxis

– Wheelchair accessible taxis

– Hackneys

– Wheelchair accessible hackneys

– Limousines

Later this year the National Transport Authority will be reviewing the National Maximum Taxi Fare. We will be seeking opinions and feedback from taxi users on the subject, as part of this review.