Launch of Phase 5a of BusConnects

Routes W4, W61 and W62 operated by Go-Ahead Ireland to launch on Sunday 25th June

The National Transport Authority (NTA), in partnership with Go-Ahead Ireland, has today commenced the fifth phase of BusConnects with the introduction of orbital Routes W4, W61 and W62.

Phase 5a, operated by Go-Ahead Ireland, will launch on Sunday 25th June, and will serve the west and south-west regions of Dublin, including Newcastle, Saggart, Citywest, Tallaght, Liffey Valley, Lucan, Blanchardstown, Hazelhatch, Maynooth, and Celbridge. The new network will provide enhanced connectivity across all transport modes on the Transport for Ireland (TFI) Network.

Route W4 stops near Liffey Valley Shopping Centre on the Lucan Road, where passengers can connect with the C1, C2, C3 and C4 services at the same stop. The W4 also connects with the N4 orbital route at Blanchardstown Shopping Centre, interchanges with the Luas at Tallaght and Cheeverstown, and will connect with commuter rail services at the new Kishoge station.

Route W61 connects with the C3 and C4 routes at Maynooth and with the C4 in Celbridge, and with commuter rail services at Maynooth and Hazelhatch stations.

Route W62 interchanges with Luas services at Tallaght, Citywest Campus, and Saggart.

Anne Graham, CEO of the National Transport Authority, said: “The launch of Phase 5a is yet another step forward in improving the connectivity and reliability of Dublin’s bus networks through the BusConnects redesign. Phase 5a’s orbital routes allow passengers to travel between suburbs without having to first travel into the city centre, providing for more efficient trips and decreased journey times.”

Andrew Edwards, Managing Director of Go-Ahead Ireland, said: “Go-Ahead Ireland is delighted to bring the next phase of BusConnects to the public alongside our colleagues at the NTA. Orbital routes such as the W4, W61 and W62 greatly enhance the overall accessibility and efficiency of the network, and Go-Ahead Ireland looks forward to continuing to serve its communities and customers.”

Further details on BusConnects can be found here.

Go-Ahead Ireland

Go-Ahead Ireland currently manages 30 routes overall, including 25 in Outer Dublin and five commuter routes that link the towns of Offaly, Laois, Meath, and Kildare.

The National Transport Authority (NTA) is a statutory non-commercial body, which operates under the aegis of the Department of Transport. Established in 2009, the NTA is responsible for developing and implementing strategies to provide high quality, accessible, sustainable transport across Ireland.