The National Transport Authority, in conjunction with Bus Éireann, Carlow-Kilkenny Locallink and  Cork Locallink, has put in place a number of bus services following changes to Bus Éireann Expressway Route 7, which no longer will provide services to a number of locations including Cork, Fermoy, Mitchelstown, Carrick-on-Suir, Castlecomer and Athy from Sunday next (June 28).

The Authority has extended Bus Éireann Route 245 for people travelling between Clonmel and Cork also serving Ardfinnan, Clogheen & Ballyporeen. Cork Locallink will additionally provide services on Route 245C giving an enhanced level of service between Mitchelstown and Fermoy via Kildorrery & Glanworth.

The Authority has introduced a new connecting service (Route 817C) provided by Carlow-Kilkenny Locallink between Carrick-on-Suir and Grangemockler where passengers can change on to Route 717 provided by JJ Kavanagh & Sons and revised Route X7 provided by Bus Éireann for onward travel to Callan, Kilkenny and Dublin City.

The revised services will come into operation on Sunday next; June 28, and the Free Travel Pass will be accepted.

The Authority is also in the process of procuring additional services on Route 817 between Kilkenny and Dublin City and between Naas and Castlecomer including serving intermediate locations at Moneenroe, Ballylinan, Athy and Kilcullen. To ensure continuity of service for the affected locations, temporary arrangements have been put in place for Bus Éireann to provide these services pending the completion of the procurement process.

Kildare South Dublin Locallink is procuring a service on behalf of the Authority that provides a number of services between Castledermot and Naas.

All these additional services are being provided by the Authority, with funding allocated by the Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport, Paschal Donohue T.D.

Full details of the relevant services are found at the following links:

Bus Éireann Route 245 incorporating Local Link Cork services

Local Link Carlow-Kilkenny Route 817C

Bus Éireann Expressway Route X7 revised timetable

JJ Kavanagh & Sons Route 717:

Route 817 Kilkenny – Dublin City & Naas – Castlecomer

The National Transport Authority undertook a review of the effect of the changes to Expressway Route 7 which is available here:

Review of withdrawal of Bus Éireann and J.J. Kavanagh licensed services from locations along the Clonmel to Dublin and Waterford to Dublin corridors